Why You Should Never See a 3D Movie

Photo credit: swanksalot via Flickr

Recently, I had a week off from school; a wonderful thing known as spring break. While at home one of my friends and I decided that we should go see a movie together. Of everything that was out we chose to see Alice in Wonderland. I was wary about seeing the movie to begin with, but I figured at the very least I got to leave the house for the night.

When we got to the theater my friend was excited and dying to see it in 3D. So, I sucked it up, paid the whopping $15.25, got my 3D glasses and trudged off to the theater. This was only the beginning of my ordeal.

I sat through the next hour and 48 minutes with a headache and feeling a bit dizzy, and it definitely wasn’t due to a massive sugar overload. Looking through those Disney 3D glasses, I realized a few things. First of all, I didn’t have any other option but to wear the glasses. If I took them off, the screen was nothing but a blur. If I kept them on, the entire movie looked like it was in a foggy haze and the 3D wasn’t even that spectacular. Nothing jumped out to touch me or made me feel like I was there.

So why would anyone waste their money on something like this? I have an idea…

The novelty of 3D – It’s the newest thing to do with movies. They even pushed back the release date of Clash of the Titans to make it 3D. If a movie comes out in 3D, everyone wants to see it with those awesome “special effects”. I think we all just need to take a step back and weigh our options. There is the regular movie experience where nothing is blurry, you can see every color, and hopefully, you don’t get a headache. Or, you can spend way too much money on a ticket and a crappy pair of plastic glasses where your experience is completely miserable.

I know 3D is here to stay which is somewhat disappointing. Maybe in the future the technology can be improved upon so I don’t want to throw up just from sitting in my seat. You never know, maybe one day we can be put inside a movie and experience it. But for right now, I’d like to stick to my traditional movie-going experience.

  1. March 31st, 2010

Leave a Reply

