The Ever-Changing Facebook Layout

It seems to me that there is always a redesign of the Facebook site. Recently is no excpetion. Facebook rolled out a new layout around early February. I was one of the first to get the new design, so needless to say, I rubbed it in all of my friends faces and was pretty darn excited about it. Probably a bit too excited.

The new layout is much more simplified, with a focus on search and creating different dashboards for applications, games, pictures, and more. In my opinion, definitely an upgrade from before. Most people would never admit that, though. As hard as it is to accept a redesign of a website, sometimes its necessary. I think we should all just suck it up.

The problem, however, is that it seems as though Facebook always is trying out a different layout and design. Once people start to become comfortable and savvy with one, another comes along. It’s great that the developers of Facebook are so forward-thinking, but it often makes people upset. After each new layout, for weeks all you get are group requests with “IF 1 MILLION PEOPLE JOIN FACEBOOK WILL CHANGE BACK TO THE OLD LAYOUT”. Sorry, but that just isn’t true.

In order for Facebook to stay relevant and connected to its audience, regular updates and changes are necessary (I’m still waiting for a dislike button, you hear me, Facebook?). I mean, where would we be if companies didn’t regularly update their software and platforms? Barnes and Noble keeps updating the Nook software while BlackBerry regularly updates the software, and most recently its browser, to make sure their phones are ready for whats next.

I am not afraid to admit that I like the new Facebook layout. It makes my life way easier, to be completely honest. Yes, at first it takes time to get used to, but things change all the time! We all need to admit to ourselves finally that sometimes, companies, especially those in the fields of technology and social media, need to update regularly. It’s necessary for continued growth.

So stop complaining and get over it.

  1. i want this in my page layout now.What should i do?tnx=)

  2. i love it…plz teach me to do like this on my profile..Tnx

  1. September 23rd, 2011

Leave a Reply

