Axe Wants You To Clean Your Balls

Recently, Axe came out with a new advertisement. Axe has always been about the male sex drive and smelling nice so that you can attract more chicks. Because that’s what is important, right? Eh, maybe not so much. Being a young female women, I will admit that I enjoy the smell of Axe on a guy, just so long as he doesn’t take a shower in it. However, often times I’m floored by their incredibly sex-driven advertising and it isn’t really a turn on.

Axe is owned by Unilever, the same company that promotes women empowerment with their Dove’s Campaign for Real Beauty. Most people at this point usually say, “Really? That’s the same company?” Why yes it is. Sorry to disappoint. These two very different perspectives of the sexes from two very different products and brands could be a problem for Unilever. There isn’t any consistency as far as the Unilever brand goes (Did you know that Unilever owns Ben and Jerry’s too? That’s just fucked up).

Now, how do I really feel about this advertisement? I’m not quite sure. As an immature 19 year-old who enjoys bathroom jokes as much as the next person, I think it’s pretty funny. There are two chicks promoting an Axe body scrubber meant to help guys clean their balls. The number of sexual innuendos are pretty funny. However, as a feminist (not the type you’re thinking) consumer, I’m a little bit offended.

So what does this mean? Well, I still have mixed feelings about this commercial. It’s undeniable how funny it is. But at the same time, I’m a little bit ashamed that I find it so funny. I’ve never liked the way that Axe presented themselves as a brand. I know that it is possible to have mixed feelings, but I don’t think I like it.

Watch the advertisement above and let me know what you think.

    • Mike Brown
    • October 25th, 2010

    Hi Mckenzie. I am a student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln who had to write a paper about visual rhetoric and the media. I initially chose to write about Axe because of how prominent and “effective” their ads are in the media. After more and more research, however, i decided to switch gears and write about how these ads seem to be offensive and degrading to women. I hope you dont mind, but i included part of your anecdote in my paper because it helped to strengthen my point and also helped to establish trust to the reader considering you represent the target audience. Just wanted to thank you for spending the time to put this up because anecdotes are a great way to convince your reader that your stance is the right one. Thanks again, Mike

    • Wow Mike, that’s awesome. Feel free to use my comments in your paper.
      Thanks for reading!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

