Why I switched to WordPress

So I decided to make the switch from Blogger to WordPress. (Click here to see my old blog) Frankly, making the switch was a little bit difficult. I love Google, but WordPress overall is just a better blogging platform. Here are my reasons why…

  1. More Professional – I don’t know what it is but overall WordPress just seems like a more professional platform. Everything is incredibly well organized with categories AND tags and a much more involved feel.
  2. Amazing Themes – Frankly, the Blogger themes leave something to be desired. Now, I am no web designer, but back in the day, I was able to design my LiveJournal with HTML, but that is about it. The WordPress themes are so gorgeous, and not to mention that is are just tons to chose from. You can always find something that fits your needs. For example, I needed a theme that would include an RSS Feed button, various page tabs and an overall pleasing aesthetic. I think I found that.
  3. The Widgets! – Whenever there is a Blogger VS WordPress post, it seems like Widgets are a make or break thing. I can include my Twitter feed in my sidebar, a tag cloud and just about everything I need to make my blog special. It just makes me feel special.
  4. Internal Analytics – On my last blog I used Google Analytics, and don’t get me wrong, I loved it. They let me know everything that I need to know. It’s a great free service. However, having internal analytics is just overall easier. Having everything in one place helps my life stay more organized (and I’m all about that).
  5. That Ugly Orange Logo – You all know what I’m talking about. The ugly orange Blogger logo. I don’t like seeing that in my browser or next to my name. There is just something so unappealing about it, which probably sounds shallow, but as a marketing major, logo design is a big deal.

Overall, I’ve been very happy with my switch. I’ve enjoyed customizing my blog to be exactly perfect and hopefully it will all pay off.

  1. i agree with the professionalism of wordpress but blogger offers a good option for customization

    i’m using wordpress instead of blogger because i don’t want to learn their xml documentation =)

  2. Excellent article. I appreciate you posting that. I ask you accept my apology for my weak English writing, I am from Germany and it is somehat new to me.

  1. December 20th, 2009

Leave a Reply

